Posted in *Recommended, Reviews, TV

Second Jen – Season 1, Episodes 1-2

secondjen-s1ep1-e1-couchsurfing

Couch Surfing

The story starts off with Mo proposing to Jen that they get an apartment together much to Jen’s surprise. More surprising to me is Mo jumping on Jen’s bed with her dirty boots (that trope always bugs me but that’s TV for you). After that they have dinner with Jen’s parents and brother where Jen reveals her plans to her mom who is not pleased by them. I’m still wondering whether anyone has ever asked for money for new shoelaces, how poor is Jen’s brother? They find an apartment and are introduced to their male neighbors who are the other main characters of this show. A bit of a romance gets an obvious start here.

I enjoyed the first episode quite a bit. It may not be super laugh out loud funny but I got some good chuckles. My initial reaction to Jen’s mom was that she was kind of a stereotypical caricature but when she’s at her best she reminds me of Arrested Development’s Lucille with her amusing, passive aggressive remarks. I have to say calling her daughter too skinny didn’t seem believable at all. The relationship between the girls Jen & Mo is really strong. There are definitely some good zingers, which often fly by very quickly due to the rapid fire banter between the girls, which is very entertaining. I particularly like the the inventive selfie segues. The acting is good although sometimes it seems characters are a bit too fast in their line delivery, which makes it feel “rehearsed” and more exaggerated. However, sometimes the exaggeration does work nicely to add a bit of absurdity to the realism. I suspect it takes a bit of time to find that perfect balance. I think it gets it right more often than not. Favorite line of episode 1, “I’m hot Asian Bambi.” Read on for my thoughts on episode 2…

Jenny has the Gay

Episodes after the first one are split up into parts. Episode 2 is split into 4 parts starting with 2.1. This focuses on Jen trying to talk with her mom. My favorite line of episode 2 belongs to her, “She better be dead or I kill her.” Mo acts as the voice of reason to Jen in this segment but also teases her. 2.3 has a bit of a serious moment with Jen’s cousin. A lot of burns are delivered by Jen’s mom and Mo. The romance angle which started in episode 1 continues here. I wonder how long the silent dad act will last for Jen’s father. This episode feels more disjointed than the first but I found that I enjoyed the humor more this time. Also +2 for referencing Tamagotchi and Fraggle Rock.

Misc

It appears the episodes are no longer on the website but I assume they’ll be made available again after the show premieres on TV on Oct 27, 8:30pm!

 

Author:

Longtime fan of East Asian films. Occasional guest "movie reporter" on the music radio show / podcast "Beats From The East" broadcasted on Concordia University's CJLO 1690AM radio station in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

Leave a Reply

